Read, read, read

Standard

It’s 2014. One of the most significant things about this date in history, I think, is how limited our attention span is getting. I wrote a 726 word blog post a while back and apologized at the beginning because it was going to be long.

We want our info fast, and we want it visually if possible. We don’t want to sift through a bunch of words to get to the main point. We love pictures and bullet points and headlines.

So when you read this headline, you probably thought I would be talking about the importance of reading to learn more about what you do and all that jazz. Which, if I’m honest, was the idea I originally had for this post, but then I started thinking.

There’s a certain level of discipline that goes into sitting down with a book and actually reading the entire thing. Complete openness on my end right now: I have three books in my bag that I’ve read 20 pages of and haven’t touched in a week or so. I’m not the best at this, but I’m trying to get better.

Why am I writing this and emphasizing reading and trying to get better? We need structure in our lives. I talked about the importance of a schedule, and I am a big advocate for keeping structure in your life to make you more productive. Add a book into that mix, and it’s an excellent start for making yourself disciplined.

I’ve found that if I just plan to read these books when I have free time, that free time is never going to come. If I make it a point to sit down and intentionally read so that I can learn some new things, I’ll actually do it.

Take the time out of your day to read a chapter, 20 pages, whatever it may be, and you’ll find the rest of your life can fall into that structured pattern. And of course, let’s not downplay the fact that you’re making yourself a better team member as you learn new things and bring them to the table.

Leave a comment