Nothing’s gonna hold me back

Standard

This song has been running through my head for the past few days.  It’s one of those songs that I can turn up to 11 in the car.  When I’m doing things like that, it’s easy to just get caught up in the music and forget that there are words with meaning that were each chosen to carry weight.

Yesterday, I really listened to them, and then, I realized the weight they can carry in my life.  The pre-chorus is where the song gets its title, and they just repeat, “Nothing’s gonna hold me back”.

And then I started to think of what’s holding me back.  Mostly, it’s myself.  Why won’t I just completely let go?  Why stress myself out about where I’m going to end up working next year?  Why listen to the world screaming at me that I’m not good enough?  God “gave everything for me”, so why does the world’s voice get to tell me what I am.

“I am chosen, I am free.  I am living for eternity.”

If I could just get myself to live by that opening line of this song, I could truly break away and not let a single thing hold me back from God’s plan for me.

Luckily, I recently got an opportunity to let go a little bit when I committed to some amazing summer plans.  I’ve been working on those daily, and I can feel God pulling me forward.  I’m not being held back by anything there.  There are some struggles, but they don’t end my world or even ruin my day.

It’s an amazing feeling when you let go and realize God has control.  I would strongly recommend trying it someday.  Actually, today!

What’s holding you back?

(Of note: I wrote a whole blog post about letting things go and didn’t make a single “Frozen” reference. Good job, me.)

One thought on “Nothing’s gonna hold me back

Leave a comment